Clicky

Databases for Sale / Marketing Opportunity Pinpoint Marketing - Junk / Spam Mail Jeremy de Goede / Glen Truter

Databases for Sale / Marketing Opportunity Pinpoint Marketing - Junk / Spam Mail Jeremy de Goede / Glen Truter
Vernon Chalmers - Sat Dec 04, 2010 @ 04:50PM
Comments: 4

Databases for Sale / Marketing Opportunity Pinpoint Marketing - Junk / Spam Mail Jeremy de Goede / Glen Truter / Anneke Olckers

The email in this post is an Unwanted Mail received from a company called Pinpoint Marketing in Cape Town (see about Pinpoint Marketing listing on the ISPA website).
Maybe my business and marketing ethics are old-fashioned, but I fail to understand why professional marketers will purchase databases compiled by other so-called marketers.

How can you market to a marketing database if you have not met, spoken to and / or made no contact with the 'targeted' contact? It is e-mails like this that make me proud to have an extensive database of clients and students - each of them who I have personally met. I regard Pinpoint Marketing's marketing approach as very unprofessional indeed.

Part-copy of the Unwanted eMail received from Pinpoint Marketing

Sent: Thursday, December 02, 2010 3:23 PM
To: Anneke Olckers

Subject: Databases for Sale/ Marketing Opportunity

Effective Marketing Solutions for South African Companies!

To whom it may concern,

WE OFFER:

Databases for sale - want to own your own lists without investing the world?
From R750.00

Business lists which contain info such as: COMPANY NAME/EMAIL/WEBSITE/TELE/FAX/LOCATION/INDUSTRY TYPE/CONTACT PERSON + POSITION/SIZE for a wide variety of businesses in SA.
+
Hospitality lists, which contain info such as: NAME/EMAIL/WEBSITE/TELE/FAX/ADDRESS/PROVINCE for SA Resorts, Guesthouses, hotels, Caravan/camp Parks, Backpackers and self-catering establishments. 
+
Email addresses +Fax Numbers + Cell phone Numbers + Travel Agents + Doctors + Schools + Liquor Stores

Complete email copy >>

ISPA Hall of Shame - PinPoint Marketing

Interestingly enough PinPoint Marketing is listed on the IPSA website

35. Pinpoint Marketing and Mailmagic (2010-11-29)

Pinpoint Marketing aka Mailmagic aka Jeremy De Goede is a spammer with multiple reports of spam from ISPA members or trusted independent sources

  • Domains: pinpointmarketing.co.za, mailmagic.co.za, investhost.com, canalsidegroup.co.za, webtoday.co.za, onlinecomps.co.za, ewinners.co.za
  • Addresses: anneke@pinpointmarketing.co.za, sales@pinpointmarketing.co.za, marketing@mailmagic.co.za, jeremy@pinpointmarketing.co.za, bounce@webtoday.co.za, bounce@mailmagic.co.za

On the ISPA Website

Comments: 4

Comments

1. Gail   |   Thu May 26, 2011 @ 12:50PM

I had an unwanted e-mail from resort group.
Much to my amazement they disclosed that they had obtained my e-mail address from Pinpoint Marketing.
I now want to get hold of Pinpoint Marketing and
1) Give them hell
2) Ask how they got my details
3) Tell them to remove my name and stop sending it to all and sundry.

Any advice as to how I contact Pinpoint Marketing.

Regards

2. Vernon Chalmers   |   Thu May 26, 2011 @ 11:14PM

Gail,

Forward me the mail '(contact me via Contact above) and I will place a copy on my anti-spam website www.unwantedemail.net - they are listed there a couple of times, but will do it again with pleasure,

Regards, Vernon Chalmers

3. Anneke   |   Fri Sep 09, 2011 @ 12:26PM

Good day Vernon,

I do not work for Pinpoint Marketing anymore so could you please remove my name?!!?

Anneke Olckers

4. Vernon Chalmers   |   Fri Sep 09, 2011 @ 02:40PM

Will look into the matter in due course.

Vernon Chalmers

Post a Comment




powered by Doodlekit™ Free Website Builder by Doodlebit™ Website Company